The Kelmarsh Blog

Work starts this month on a unique restoration project at Kelmarsh Hall which will see a derelict 18th century Orangery transformed for public use.

Planning permission was granted in February for the restoration of the Orangery, which was salvaged from Brixworth Hall in 1954 by former Kelmarsh Hall owner Colonel CG Lancaster, just before Brixworth Hall was demolished.

Building work starts on April 7th to return this building to its former glory. Once finished, it will provide an intimate and inspiring space for community groups, special occasions and smaller-scale weddings. The 12-week project, which will cost approximately £120,000, will include the restoration of the windows, the installation of a double-glazed aluminium roof for extra strength and the restoration of the stonework using a very close match to the original soft white Kingsthorpe stone.

The Orangery will offer a community space for local groups and organisations and will also serve as a venue for Kelmarsh’s own events, such as floristry workshops and school visits. If you are interested in finding out more, call 01604 686543.


Work to Start on Restoration of Kelmarsh Hall’s Orangery